The history of Hotel Fort Canning is an intriguing story, one that dates back to the early 20th Century.
Considered as an iconic heritage hotel in Singapore, the Hotel Fort Canning building is the result of the restoration of a former British Military Administration Building.
According to the history of Fort Canning, this military building was built in 1926 as the Administration Building of the British Far East Command HQ. The General-Officer-Commanding, Lieutenant-General Percival, had an office in this building. The building was occupied by the Japanese Military during the Occupation (1942-1945). After the war, the British Military took it back and used it as part of the British Military Administration.
After independence in 1965, the building was taken over by the Singapore Armed Forces, and in 1970, the building was used by the Singapore Command & Staff College (SCSC). In 1976, the SCSC moved out of the building, and it remained unoccupied until 1995, where it housed Fort Canning Country Club.
In November 2002, the present owners took over the premises and launched a premium
members-only town club called The Legends Fort Canning Park. The brand expansion of the company led to the conceptualization of a revolutionary luxury hospitality service. In July 2011, the restored heritage building re-opened as Hotel Fort Canning Hotel, along with the stunning Glass House. The conservation building was styled by award-winning DP Architects to incorporate the finest hospitality amenities